The OPRA exam is part of the APC Knowledge Stream. It applies to pharmacists whose qualification is from a country other than Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and is equivalent to four years of full-time study if completed after 1 January 2006, or three years if completed before. The APC page does not require evidence of current registration. There are two parts: an eligibility check first, then the exam. Pharmacists from the six excluded countries use different routes, which this page does not cover.
Where OPRA sits in the process
The Australian Pharmacy Council runs skills assessment for overseas pharmacists on behalf of the Pharmacy Board of Australia. For candidates in the Knowledge Stream, the sequence on the APC page is an eligibility check followed by the OPRA exam. A third item, the Skills Assessment Outcome, is listed with its own fee. You cannot register for the exam until you have passed the eligibility check.
OPRA is the first examined hurdle in the pathway to Australian registration. It tests whether you meet the minimum knowledge standard for an intern pharmacist. It does not replace the later steps that the Pharmacy Board of Australia and Ahpra set. We cover what we have verified in after the exam.
The two qualification tests
| Test | What the APC page says | What to check on your documents |
|---|---|---|
| Country of qualification | Must be a country other than Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the UK or the USA | The country that awarded your pharmacy degree, not your citizenship or where you now work |
| Length of study | Equivalent to four years of full-time study if completed after 1 January 2006; three years if completed before | The completion date and the full-time equivalent length on your transcript |
| Registration | Evidence of current registration is not required | Nothing required for the stream, but keep your registration records for later steps |
The detail of how the APC assesses "equivalent to four years" is set out in its eligibility criteria and is decided by the APC. Degrees with an integrated internship, a bridging year or a combined structure can be hard to judge from a transcript alone. If your course length is not obvious, contact the APC before paying any fee, and keep the reply.
If your qualification is from Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the UK or the USA, the Knowledge Stream described here is not your route. The APC page we read does not list those routes. Check the APC and Pharmacy Board of Australia sites directly. Do not pay an eligibility check fee until you know which stream applies.
The order of steps
- Read the APC Knowledge Stream page. Confirm your country and course length. Fees and dates are on the same page.
- Gather documents. Degree certificate, transcripts and any other evidence the APC portal asks for. The page we read does not list every document, so follow the portal checklist.
- Submit and pay for the eligibility check. The APC lists AUD 810 for this step as of 25 October 2026.
- Wait for the outcome. The processing time is not stated in the pages we read. Plan for delay and do not wait until the last week before a registration window.
- Register for a sitting. Once you have passed the eligibility check, register in the Candidate Portal within the registration window.
- Prepare, then sit the exam. Use the study plan that matches your timeline.
Try OPRA (formerly KAPS) practice questions free
Free account, no card needed. Answer sample questions with full explanations before you pay anything.
Timing: why eligibility is the real deadline
Registration for each sitting closes about one month before exam day, with no late registrations. If your eligibility check is not complete by the close of the window, you cannot register for that sitting. Look at the March 2027 sitting, whose registration window runs from 19 January to 22 February 2027. A candidate who submits documents in early February may be too late, depending on processing. The safest approach is to start the eligibility check first, and plan study around the earliest sitting that follows the confirmed outcome. The full table of sittings is in booking, fees and dates.
Documents checklist
The APC portal sets the exact list, and it may change. The items below are what overseas applicants in similar processes commonly need to be ready to supply. This is our general checklist, not the APC list, so treat it as a prompt to check the portal.
| Item | Why it matters | Common delay |
|---|---|---|
| Degree certificate | Shows the qualification and the awarding institution | Certified copies from the university registrar |
| Full academic transcript | Shows course length and content, which supports the four-year or three-year equivalence test | Transcripts issued only on request, with processing time |
| Proof of completion date | The 1 January 2006 date decides whether the three-year or four-year test applies | Completion date missing from the certificate |
| Passport or national identity document | Identity verification | Name differs from the degree |
| Translations, if documents are not in English | Allows assessment | Certified translation takes time and cost |
Common eligibility problems
- A shorter course. A three-year degree completed after 1 January 2006 may not meet the four-year equivalence test as written. Ask the APC how it assesses your programme.
- A degree with a separate internship year. Whether the internship counts towards the length of study is the APC's decision. Do not assume.
- Qualification from one country, citizenship of another. The test is the country of the qualification. Citizenship does not change the stream.
- Two qualifications. If you hold a bachelor degree and a later postgraduate qualification, ask which one the APC will assess.
- Name changes. Bring documents that link your names, such as a marriage certificate.
If your case is not straightforward, send the APC a short written question before you pay. A clear reply protects a fee of several hundred dollars.
Practical questions
- Do I need to be registered as a pharmacist in my home country? The APC Knowledge Stream page does not require evidence of registration. Later steps in the pathway may ask for other evidence, which we did not verify.
- Do I need to live in Australia? The exam is delivered at approved test centres in many countries, so you can sit it outside Australia. Check the Candidate Portal for the centres on offer.
- Is there an age or experience requirement? The page we read does not state one.
- Can I sit if English is not my first language? The pages we read cover the knowledge exam only. English language requirements for registration are set by the Pharmacy Board of Australia and Ahpra, and we have not verified them. Check the Board site.
- Do doctors use this route? No. OPRA is for pharmacists. Doctors seeking Australian registration use the AMC pathway; see the AMC MCQ hub.
Why the eligibility step exists
The Knowledge Stream is designed for pharmacists whose training differs from the Australian degree. The eligibility check lets the APC decide, before you commit to the much larger exam fee, whether your qualification fits the stream. Seen that way, the check protects you as much as the system. It is better to learn at the first step that your course is too short, than after paying for the exam.
The check is also the point at which the APC establishes your identity and qualification record, which later stages rely on. For that reason, small inconsistencies are worth fixing early. A name spelled two ways across documents, or a missing completion date, can cause delay at every later step.
Keeping the process on schedule
- Write the dates down. Note the registration window for your target sitting and the date by which you need the eligibility outcome.
- Submit complete documents once. A partial submission invites requests for more evidence and adds weeks.
- Keep copies and receipts. Save every confirmation email and payment record in one folder.
- Follow up in writing. If the outcome is delayed, write to the APC with your reference number and the registration deadline you are working to.
- Have a fallback sitting. If the outcome comes too late for your first choice, move to the next sitting without panic.
What to prepare before you start the process
Pharmacists often start studying before they confirm eligibility. That is reasonable, but do both in parallel. Spend the first week on the eligibility check and document gathering. In the same week, take a baseline block of questions to see where you are. You will then know both the earliest sitting available to you and the length of study plan that fits it.
- Request certified copies of transcripts early. Some universities take weeks.
- Check name consistency across your passport, degree and transcripts. A mismatch can slow an application.
- Decide on a target sitting and a back-up sitting.
- Budget for the full set of listed fees, not just the exam fee.
Once you know the sitting, read the OPRA hub for the format and blueprint, and the exam day guide for the test-centre routine.
Frequently asked questions
Who is eligible for the OPRA exam?
Pharmacists whose qualification is from a country other than Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the UK or the USA, equivalent to four years of full-time study if completed after 1 January 2006, or three years if before.
Do I need a pharmacist registration to sit OPRA?
The APC Knowledge Stream page states that evidence of registration is not required. Later registration steps may ask for other evidence, which we have not verified.
What is the eligibility check?
It is the first of two parts of the Knowledge Stream. You must pass it before you can register for the OPRA exam. The APC listed AUD 810 for it on 25 October 2026.
Can pharmacists from the UK or USA sit OPRA through this route?
The Knowledge Stream excludes qualifications from those countries and from Australia, Canada, Ireland and New Zealand. Check the APC and Pharmacy Board of Australia pages for the route that applies to you.
Can I sit OPRA outside Australia?
The exam is delivered at approved test centres in many countries. Centre choices are shown in the Candidate Portal.