Kuwait is changing its system. What you sit today differs from what graduates will sit from 2027.
- Today, expatriate doctors recruited at registrar level or above take a Ministry of Health (MOH) exam at Prometric centres. Senior and Registrar versions exist.
- From 2027, press reports describe new Kuwaiti Medical and Dental Licensing Examinations (KMLE and KDLE) for new graduates, run through the Kuwait Institute for Medical Specializations (KIMS).
- For nurses, midwives, pharmacists and physiotherapists we found no official published exam. Some prep sites report one for nurses. Confirm with MOH.
- The MOH Health Licensing Department issues licences for everything except pharmacy, according to Prometric's MOH page.
- Reported format for the doctor exam is 150 multiple-choice questions in 170 minutes. That figure comes from a secondary source.
Medical and health education in Kuwait
Kuwait's main medical school is the Faculty of Medicine at Kuwait University, supported by the Health Sciences Center, with a few private or regional options. The medical degree is long, about six to seven years including pre-medical preparation, and is taught mainly in English. Graduates complete a one-year internship, largely in Ministry of Health hospitals, before they can practise independently. Nursing is offered at bachelor's level and in applied-health institutes, pharmacy is a five-year degree, and dentistry takes about five to six years.
Postgraduate training is organised by the Kuwait Institute for Medical Specializations, which runs the national residency and board programmes. Practice requires registration with the Ministry of Health, whose licensing unit assesses degrees and may require an exam for foreign graduates. A Kuwaiti degree is not a licence on its own, so check the current rules.
| Topic | Detail |
|---|---|
| Medical degree | About 6-7 years incl. pre-medical stage |
| Internship | About 1 year, mostly MoH hospitals |
| Language of instruction | Mainly English |
| Schools and accreditation | Kuwait University plus a few others; university regulators |
| Route to licence | Degree, internship, MoH registration |
Three layers, and only one is well documented
Kuwait is the hardest of the Gulf states to describe confidently. One exam is clearly documented: the MOH Prometric exam for senior medical grades. A second layer is announced but not yet live. The third, exams for other professions, rests on weak evidence. We separate the three below so you know what is solid.
Who needs a licensing exam in Kuwait
The documented requirement is for expatriate physicians. The MOH exam page on Prometric names the grades: Consultant, Senior Specialist, Specialist and Senior Registrar for the Senior exam, and Registrar for the Registrar exam. Applicants outside those grades, and other professions, should not assume the same exam applies.
Exemptions are reported to be handled case by case, for example for recognised boards or long experience, but that comes from secondary sources. Ask the Health Licensing Department before you assume either outcome. The department's licensing address is license@moh.gov.kw, and it answers Sunday to Thursday.
Doctors: the MOH Prometric exam
This is the one exam with an official page. It is a test-centre exam delivered at Prometric centres worldwide. Prometric links an exam reference PDF for candidates, available from its MOH Kuwait page. The page does not state the structure or duration. A secondary source reports 150 multiple-choice questions in 170 minutes. Treat that as a planning figure until you see the reference PDF.
There are two grade bands. Choose the one that matches the post you were offered: Senior (consultant down to senior registrar) or Registrar.
Doctors and dentists: KMLE and KDLE from 2027
Reports from the Kuwaiti press and from CLEAR's regulatory news service describe a Kuwaiti Medical Licensing Examination (KMLE) and a Kuwaiti Dental Licensing Examination (KDLE), approved in 2026 and effective from 2027. They would apply to new graduates, Kuwaiti and expatriate, before resident or assistant registrar posts. We could not find an official KIMS page, so the format, content and fee are unconfirmed.
If you are a student or recent graduate aiming for Kuwait, watch KIMS for the official announcement. Do not build a study plan around a format that has not been published.
Join the Gulf GP Exam waitlist
We open a question bank only when it meets our question-writing standard. Leave your email and we will write once, when it opens.
Nurses
The official e-government service page for public-sector nursing licensing lists documents and experience requirements but no exam step. Prep and consultancy sites say expatriate nurses sit an MOH exam, reportedly 150 questions in 170 minutes. These accounts conflict with the official page, so we cannot confirm the exam. Check with the Health Licensing Department and read the official nursing licence page before paying for any course.
Midwives
Midwives are licensed under the nursing process. We found no midwife-specific exam. Treat the nursing requirements as your starting point and ask MOH what applies to a midwifery title.
Pharmacists
Prometric's MOH page says the Health Licensing Department covers licences except pharmacy, so pharmacists sit outside the route above. We found no public national pharmacist exam. Pharmacists are said to go through an MOH evaluation. Contact MOH directly for the current process.
Physiotherapists
As with pharmacists, we found no public national exam for physiotherapists, only an MOH evaluation of qualifications and experience. Verify with MOH.
What is documented and what is not
| Profession | Today | From 2027 | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Doctors | MOH Prometric exam, Senior or Registrar | KMLE for new graduates (reported) | Current exam: official page. KMLE: press reports |
| Dentists | MOH evaluation; Prometric exams may apply | KDLE for new graduates (reported) | Low to medium |
| Nurses | Exam reported by prep sites only | Not announced | Low |
| Midwives | No exam found | Not announced | Low |
| Pharmacists | MOH evaluation, outside the main licensing department | Not announced | Low |
| Physiotherapists | MOH evaluation | Not announced | Low |
What to do while the rules settle
Your best next step depends on who you are.
- Expatriate doctor with an offer at registrar level or above: prepare for the Prometric MOH exam. It is the only documented route, and the reference PDF is your starting point.
- Medical or dental student planning to start work in 2027 or later: watch KIMS for the official KMLE or KDLE announcement. Keep your study on core clinical knowledge until a blueprint appears.
- Nurse, pharmacist, midwife or physiotherapist: write to the Health Licensing Department before spending anything on preparation, and ask whether an exam applies to your title and grade.
Keep copies of every reply. Where rules are in flux, a written answer from the Ministry protects you if a recruiter or a prep site tells you something different.
Language and recognition
The exam language is not stated on the Prometric page. English is the likely assumption for expatriates, but confirm in the reference PDF. Recognition is through MOH evaluation of your qualification and experience, with primary source verification. Reports mention exemption for recognised boards and long experience, but we have no official list. A licence from another Gulf state does not transfer automatically.
Typical steps today
- Confirm your grade with the employer or MOH: Senior or Registrar for doctors.
- Email the Health Licensing Department to confirm whether an exam applies to your profession.
- Download the exam reference PDF from the Prometric MOH Kuwait page.
- Book a seat at a Prometric centre, in Kuwait or abroad.
- Submit your result with your verified documents for licensing.
Try Gulf GP Exam practice questions free
Free account, no card needed. Answer sample questions with full explanations before you pay anything.
Frequently asked questions
What exam do expatriate doctors take in Kuwait?
The Ministry of Health licensing exam, delivered by Prometric at test centres worldwide. There is a Senior exam (Consultant, Senior Specialist, Specialist, Senior Registrar) and a Registrar exam.
What are the KMLE and KDLE?
The Kuwaiti Medical Licensing Examination and Kuwaiti Dental Licensing Examination, reported as approved in 2026 and effective from 2027 for new graduates. No official format has been published that we could find.
Do nurses sit an exam in Kuwait?
The official nursing licence page lists documents and experience but no exam. Some prep websites report an MOH exam. Confirm with the Health Licensing Department before paying for preparation.
How long is the doctor exam?
Prometric's page does not state it. A secondary source reports 150 multiple-choice questions in 170 minutes. Check the exam reference PDF.
Who do I contact about licensing?
The MOH Health Licensing Department, at license@moh.gov.kw, Sunday to Thursday according to Prometric's MOH page.
Can I be exempt from the exam?
Secondary sources describe case-by-case exemptions for recognised boards or long experience. We found no official list, so ask MOH.
Last reviewed October 2026
